Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"> The fifth layer of hell
30 November, 2004 :: 1:33 a.m.
sage wisdom from the africans.

I'm putting away, or at least getting out of the way, all of my papers upon papers of research for my seminar paper. Which was on vaginas, remember? Anyway, I have sections from this one pregnancy book (which you are buying RIGHT NOW, right les?) writtem by a feminist. interesting book. I told leslie i liked it for some of the ways in which the author described pregnancy, in terms that are easily understandable. the best had to be the baby "began to whomp around in side of me like someone cleaning out a closet before a move." that's brilliant. you ladies know what i'm talking about. anyway, the book starts out with this amazing african proverb, which, i believe is one of the most profound things i've read in my life. honestly it took my breath away when i read it. and i even managed to work it into my paper:

"Being pregnant and giving birth are like crossing a narrow bridge. People can accompany you to the bridge. They can greet you on the other side. But you walk that bridge alone.�


scary shit, y'all.



cabbages and kings
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com